Art Inspiration

One of the best ways to make improvements to your art is to look to others for inspiration. If you admire someone’s art, look into it. What exactly do you like about their style? Could that aspect of their style help you improve your own? The most important thing to remember, though, is to not directly compare your art. All art is different. Styles have unique quirks. Don’t be discouraged if you think some’s art is “better” than yours. It’s not. All art pieces have their own, special meanings.

Looking up to someone isn’t bad, though. If you like the way someone draws eyes, study the eyes in their drawings and let their style inspire you. If you think someone has a better understanding of anatomy than you, study the parts of the body in their art that you struggle with the most. Here are some people whose art I look up to:

Rea: This artist is on several platforms, but I check her YouTube channel the most. Her channel name is GinjaNinjaOwO, and I’ve admired her art for awhile now. She’s an astounding animator. Her anatomy is beautiful, and her style in general is very nice.

Noelle Stevenson: Noelle is the artist of the graphic novel, Nimona. This is probably my favorite graphic novel of all time. I read it for the first time about a year ago, and I’ve adored it ever since. Her art style seems so simple, but still has complexities and quirks that make it all the more lovable. It’s extremely inspiring for a more cartoony side to my style.

NaRae Lee: Narae Lee is the illustrator of the Maximum Ride Manga series. I read the original series about three years ago, and I’m currently rereading it, because it’s one of my favorite book series. I read the first two books in the manga series about a year ago, but over the past month or two, I got around to reading the last seven that are currently available. I absolutely love NaRae Lee’s art style. The proportioning always seems flawless, and the textures, outfits, backgrounds, and facial expressions are beautiful. Every panel in the manga is so well drawn. The quality continues to blow me away in every edition!kingdom-au-mia-design

*These artists have helped me grow a bit more comfortable with wrinkles in clothes, shading and lighting, and general anatomy and positioning. I’m particularly proud of the outfit design in this drawing.*

 

Leave a Reply

